School Board

Board Notices

Special Board Meeting Added
On Tuesday, April 30, at 5:30 p.m. the Board will host a special board meeting, open to the public, for the primary purpose of hearing from attorneys Kristina Moon and Maura McInerney with Education Law Center who will provide a presentation to the board regarding the implications of seeking legal advice regarding school district policies from a law firm with a strong religious affiliation and agenda.

Board News

2023-2024 Budget Approved by the Board
On June 8, 2023, the Board approved a final budget for the 2023-2024 fiscal year.  The approved budget includes $149,396,858 in total expenditures. The millage rate for Cumberland County for 2023-2024 is 13.5621, and the rate for York County is 16.1427. These rates represent increases of 3.87% in Cumberland County and 4.40% in York County. Click here for additional details including presentations made to the Board and community throughout the budget development process.

Act 34 Hearings Held for New Intermediate Schools 
On May 9, 2022, public hearings for construction of the District's two new Intermediate Schools were held at the Administration Center.  The following presentations were made during the hearings.
In addition to the hearing, with the help of the architects and its financial advisors, the District is sharing the attached Act 34 Booklets with the public.

Guidelines for In Person and Electronic Public Comments

Public participation and attendance at School Board Meetings is welcome. Meetings are also livestreamed via our website and public comments accepted electronically. For additional information about in person and remote attendance/public comments and accomodations, please click here.

Upcoming Meetings


School Board Meeting

Thu Jul 18 2024

School Board Meeting

Thu Aug 8 2024

On Board Newsletter

On Board is published monthly after the Board meetings have been held. It provides a summary of Board discussions and actions as well as shout outs and recognitions presented by the Board and administration. Please click here to view.

About the Board

The Board of School Directors is composed of nine members, three elected from each of the three regions which make up the West Shore School District. Click here to learn more about each of our board members.

Although directors are elected by voters in each of these regions, each Board member represents the entire West Shore School District. They are elected to serve four-year terms of office. This method of election ensures that the Board has experienced members serving at any one time. The three-region configuration is as follows:

Region 1
Wormleysburg Borough
Lemoyne Borough
New Cumberland Borough
Lower Allen Township Precincts 4, 5

Region 2
Lower Allen Township Precincts 1, 2, 3, 6
Fairview Township Precincts 1, 2, 4

Region 3
Fairview Township Precinct 3
Newberry Township Precincts 1, 3
Goldsboro Borough
Lewisberry Borough

The Superintendent of Schools serves as an ex officio member of the Board. He sits with the Board and advises the Board, but he does not vote.

© 2024. West Shore School District. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website